Manage Site

Objective

This guide provides instructions on how to manage a Volterra Site in your cloud or edge location. A Volterra site consists of one or more Volterra nodes. To know more about sites and nodes, see Volterra Site.

Using the instructions provided in this guide, you can edit the site properties, perform scaling, perform upgrades, and remove the site.


Prerequisites

Note: In case you do not have an account, see Create a Volterra Account.

  • Allow traffic from and to the Volterra public IP addresses to your network and whitelist related domain names. See Firewall or Proxy Reference for the list of IP addresses and domain names.

Edit Site

You can edit the site configuration by performing the following:

Step 1: Navigate to your site and open the site edit form.

Log in to the VoltConsole with your tenant credentials and select Sites -> Site List. Find the site you want to edit and click ... -> Edit. The site edit form gets loaded.

EdSite
Figure: Edit Site

Step 2: Edit the site and apply the changes.

Set the site configuration parameters according to your requirement and click Save Changes.

SiteCnfEd
Figure: Edit Site Configuration Parameters

In case of configuring the VIP addresses, you must choose from the reserved addresses. The system reserves addresses as per the following mechanism of DHCP subnet Prefix Length (PL):

Prefix Length (PL) Reserved Addresses
PL <= 25 The last 8 addresses of the subnet range are reserved and the last address is set as broadcast address. Therefore, you can select from the rest of the 7 addresses.
PL <= 27 The last 4 addresses of the subnet range are reserved and the last address is set as broadcast. Therefore, you can select from the rest of the 3 addresses.
PL <= 29 The last 2 addresses of the subnet range are reserved and the last address is set as broadcast. Therefore, you can only select the other address.

Table 1: Reserved VIP Addresses

Note: For information on node replacement, see Replace Node.


Perform Auto-Scaling

You can also configure scaling for your sites after registering. Perform the following to setup auto-scaling.

Step 1: Navigate to your site and edit the pool count.

Select Sites from the configuration menu and Site List from the options pane. Locate your site, click ..., and click Edit. Enter a value in the Desired Pool Count field to set the scale. Click Save changes.

AutoScale
Figure: Desired Pool Count Setting

Step 2: Perform registrations for new pool nodes.

Select Manage from the configuration menu and Registrations from the Site Management in the options pane. Click the Pending Registrations tab and approve the pool nodes.

Note: Individual nodes are not visible from the site list for multi-node site. However, you can check the nodes in the Other Registrations tab.


Upgrade Site

Site upgrade includes Volterra software upgrade and/or OS upgrade and you can perform this from the VoltConsole. The upgrade functionality is visible only if it is available and applicable for your site.

You can perform the software upgrade from VoltConsole using any of the following ways:

Site List: Upgrade from the site list view.

From the Sites -> Site List option, click Upgrade in the SW version (Current/Status) and OS version (Current/Status) fields for your site to perform software and OS upgrades respectively. Click Upgrade in the confirmation windows to proceed.

upg sitelist new
Figure: Upgrade from Site List View

Site Dashboard: Upgrade from the site dashboard view of site monitoring.

Click on your site from the Sites -> Site List to load the dashboard. Click Upgrade in the Volterra Software and Operating System fields of the Software Version part of the dashboard. Click Upgrade in the confirmation windows to proceed.

upg sitedb new
Figure: Upgrade from Site Dashboard View

Site Status: Upgrade from the site status view of site monitoring.

Click on your site from the Sites -> Site List to load the dashboard and click Site Status tab. Click Upgrade in the Volterra Software Status and Volterra OS Status fields. Click Upgrade in the confirmation windows to proceed.

upg sitestatus new
Figure: Upgrade from Site Status View

Note: The update status is indicated in the Update Status field in the site dashboard or the site status views. In the site list view, the status is indicated in the SW version (Current/Status) and OS version (Current/Status) fields.


Remove Site

To remove site, perform the following in the System namespace.

Step 1: Navigate to the site list and delete your site.

Select Sites from the configuration menu and Site List in the options pane. Select your site from the list of sites and click ... -> Edit for your site. In the edit form, click Delete Site. Click Decomission in the confirmation window.

DeleteSite
Figure: Delete the Site

Note: Removing the site does not delete the node in your cloud or physical locations. To remove your node from your cloud or physical device, follow the instructions provided in the Install guides.


Perform Factory Reset

You can trigger factory reset of the nodes in your site by performing the site re-registration.

Perform the following in case of factory reset:

Step 1: Navigate to registrations and perform factory reset.

Select Sites from the configuration menu and Site List in the options pane. Select your site from the list of sites and click ... -> Reregister. Click Reregister in the confirmation window.

FR
Figure: Site Factory Reset

This removes the node from the site and changes the site state to the WAITINGNODES state. Also, the factory reset starts for the node and when the reset is complete, new registration request gets created.

Note: In case of multi-node site, re-registration removes all nodes from the site and factory reset starts for all nodes.

Step 2: Approve new registration for your site.

Select Manage from the configuration menu and Registrations from the Site Management in the options pane. Select your site from the Pending Registrations tab and approve the registration.

Note: In case of multi-node sites, perform this step for each node.


Concepts


API References